Jo Sharp Contemporary Knitting 2 socks???

August 17, 2007 at 4:04 am 1 comment

Wow.  These designs are truly timeless!  Jo Sharp sure knows what she’s doing.  HOWEVER, I just finished knitting her “Cotton Socks” that were featured in Contemporary Knitting 2.  They are knitted FLAT.  Yes, FLAT.  The fold is at the toes, then the socks are seamed up each side.  Pretty freaky if you ask me.  I had to try these, being a part-time sock knitter myself.  The toes and heels were shaped using short rows, which made them almost cool.  I’ll post a picture of said sock strips later today.  You can judge!  Then, the true test.  Will they feel good on the ole tootsies?

Please notice that I’ve started kitting the Jo Sharp knit Issue 3 designs.  I have the Quick Knit Jacket already done.  It’s knit up on 11 US!  It will be quick!  I’m trying to decide what I’ll knit first in this book.  I wanna know what you guys like!  Click on this link and peruse the goodies.  Keep ROWAN on the river!  (Hi Candis!!!)

Jo Sharp Sock Strip

Alright, here is a photo of the “sock strip.”

Here is a close-up shot of the short row toe of the sock:

Short Row Toe

It’s not very clear, but hopefully you get the message.  It’s really pretty clever!  As I learned recently that it’s good to do (in a Helen Hamann class at market) I’m going to wash the strips before I sew them together.  It really does even out those “wonky” stitches.  Stay tuned for more WIPs!  (works in progress)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ravelry Jo Sharp knit Issue 3

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Candis  |  August 18, 2007 at 2:43 am

    Greetings Friend of the Fibers,

    After much consideration of these Jo Sharpe fashions, I vote for the Quick Knit Jacket and the Zigzag Ribbed Vest as kit candidates I would be tempted by. But of course we both know I am a push over for beautiful yarns and fashionable styles.

    Candis Lee
    from Tennessee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Categories

Feeds

Recent Posts

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

