Finally, I’m swatching for a SKIF! Martha, that is…

June 19, 2008 at 3:42 am 5 comments

Phew!
I’ve been a very, very bad SKIF fan. BUT, I’m finally here. This is a close-up of my Martha swatch. In the tradition of SKIF, I’ve tried to incorporate “sewing thread” into my yarn to make it look like the SKIF sweaters sold in boutiques and that I see at market on those Deep South Fibers girls.

I got very lucky. I was in my friendly Hancock’s Fabric store on Sunday, and lo and behold, the Maxi Lock sewing thread was on sale for $1.77/spool, 3000 yds. per spool! (I haven’t been able to see this swatch in real life as well as I can in this photo!) So, I bought two shades of orange and two shades of my favorite, chartreuse/lime green, because I knew I would have SOMETHING at home to put it with for another SKIF, maybe the next one, CAT.

I got home with my thread, and put the oranges with some Schaeffer Anne that I bought in Reno a couple of weeks ago. It’s perfect!!! I’m going to knit this sweater to and from Turkey, where I’m going to see my Mom and siblings. Here is a photo of a small pile of “Martha” yarn.

I’ve got only one Martha pattern left. However, I’ve ordered more, and they’re on the way! I won’t be able to fill any more orders until I get back from the homeland on the 28th. Turkish food, here I come!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

New SKIF Pattern in stock. Hello Martha! Martha Update

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephy  |  June 20, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    That’s a gorgeous swatch. Have a great trip and bring us back some Martha!

    Reply
  • 2. knitch  |  June 21, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Thank you Stephy!!!

    Reply
  • 3. knitch  |  July 1, 2008 at 3:56 am

    Sorry folks, I lied. That’s Schaeffer LAUREL, not ANNE.

    Reply
  • 4. Susan  |  July 1, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Oh, the Laurel looks fantastic! Glad you are using one of my yarns, Papatya. LOL! You’ll have to let me know how it turns out. I may have to make one of my own.

    Reply
  • 5. Laura  |  July 1, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Beautiful color combo. Nice swatching, babe! I’m glad you’re back. I wanna hear all about Turkey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Categories

Feeds

Recent Posts

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

