Rowan 44 kits are getting cranked up!!!!

August 20, 2008 at 4:28 am 9 comments

Good Afternoon my little pretties!
I just got a lovely box of yarn from Rowan yesterday.  It contained yarn necessary to kit both Da Vinci and Florentino from Rowan Magazine 44, the 30th Anniversary Edition.  The photos really don’t do the masterpieces justice.  The colors are rich and warm.  I’m pricing them at the usual 10% off for your purchasing pleasure!  Remember…you deserve something special, especially if it ends up being a garment that you will make for yourself, and enjoy doing it.  These designs are timeless.  This is the link for the kits:  Rowan Magazine 44 Renaissance Kits  Here are photos of the kits that are available so far:

Da Vinci knitted in Wool Cotton and Kidsilk Aura

Da Vinci knitted in Wool Cotton and Kidsilk AuraFlorentino knitted in Kid Classic

It’s now time for a caravan update.  I’ve put a lot of new wood framing on it, but don’t have a photo of it.  I have a raw spot on my right palm from using the chisel without my work gloves.  BAD GIRL!  Anyway, I’m paying the price.  I may be getting a little ahead of myself, but I have selected FABRIC, LINOLEUM, AND LAMINATES from which I will make a final choice for the interior finishes.  The walls will be the original 1/4″ birch plywood.  I want the look to be a little retro, so I selected an Amy Butler fabric that’s got knockout shades of aqua and chartreuse.  (Chartreuse seems to be a constant in my life these past 8 years….why deny it?)  I welcome all comments.  Which laminate do you like?  The green “bamboo look” or the aluminums?
Samples for Caravan interiors

Samples for Caravan interiors

I tried to blog about the Rowan Colourscape cardigans that I shipped to Westminster Fibers last week, but WordPress seemed to be acting up, big time.  Below are photos of two of the cardigans that I completed.  I’m now working on the back of a coat for them, because it’s time sensitive and I didn’t have time to do the whole garment.  SO, we are sharing coat pieces! 
WOAH!!!  BLURRY!!!!!  Have you been hitting the bottle already?
I’m leaving for Stitches Midwest with some great friends from AR on Thursday 4 a.m.  Yes, 4 a.m.  Desperate measures for some desperate knitters!  I’m taking 2 classes:  Design it yourself with Unpatterns, and Unpattern Top-Down Sweaters.  I’m always trying to get over my fear of pattern writing.  I’ve only got 4 patterns to my name, that are self-published, only one of which is on etsy now, and there really should be more!  Anyway, I ramble….if you haven’t attended a Stitches event, you should, but you should also take lots of money.  The market is scary incredible!  Thank goodness we are driving.  If I run out of space in my roller bag, it can go in the car!
Please keep in mind that I welcome ALL comments, positive or negative about ANYTHING I write!  Let’s have some fun!  Oh, and I think I may have fixed the column problems with the blog.  Sorry about that!
Knit on!
Entry filed under: Blogroll, Caravan, New Patterns, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Black-Eyed Peas and Patterns Trip with the girls to Stitches Midwest in Schaumberg, IL

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Patti  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:02 am

    I’ve taken several classes from Karen Alfke. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did. Karen is an excellent teacher and entertaining at the same time. I have taken the Top Down Sweater class but not designing with Unpatterns. I think that is a new class in the last year or so. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it. I made a beautiful top down with Koigu. Fortunately, or unfortunately, I’ve lost 50# since I knit it and am taking it apart and reknitting it because I love it so much. But it somes apart easily since there are no seams. Unpatterns fit perfectly so be sure and have a sweater with you that you like the fit.

    Reply
  • 2. Linda Barry  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:35 am

    I’m also going to STITCHES Midwest, so perhaps I will SEE YOU THERE! I don’t names of my classes, but I have four of them on Friday and Saturday.

    love your writing.

    Reply
  • 3. Linda Barry  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:37 am

    Wow, I am I mixed up! I can’t see you at STITCHES because you went on 4th, and I am leaving this week on 21 August – 1 day from this posting. duh!

    Reply
  • 4. Linda Barry  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:37 am

    also, the timing of my posting is 7:37 P.M. — not A.M. as I read it after I click the SUBMIT button.

    Reply
  • 5. Linda Barry  |  August 20, 2008 at 7:38 am

    and it’s 19th of August — not 20th YET!

    Reply
  • 6. Memphis Mary  |  August 20, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    I love the fabric and I especially love Amy Butler’s fabrics. I can’t tell much about your laminate samples but I love the green–so happy and cheerful. Have fun on your trip and in your classes. Can’t wait to see what you learned.

    Reply
  • 7. knitch  |  August 20, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Thanks for the preview Patti! I think I’ve packed the sweater that fits. I get so excited about Stitches that I pack early then can’t remember what I packed!

    Reply
  • 8. knitch  |  August 20, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Great to hear from you Mary! You’re the only one who commented on the caravan. 😦 I’m very excited about it and can’t wait to see how it turns out. It should be neat, clean, and cheerful. I feel a potluck coming on!

    Reply
  • 9. knitch  |  August 20, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Linda,
    I hope you’re coherent today! 🙂 We’re staying at the Renaissance, but my friends are the social directors. I don’t know where we’ll be. My classes are all day Friday and all day Saturday, so I know I’ll be studying (knitting) those two days in a room, hidden away. Maybe I’ll see you at the market!
    Love, Moi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Categories

Feeds

Recent Posts

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

