We have a Scottish visitor. I’ve got to cook dinner tonight!

September 25, 2008 at 4:41 pm 1 comment

I don’t know about you guys, but even one day is short notice for me.  DB called me last night and told me we would be having a visitor spend the night, and perhaps two nights.  Being that he is from Scotland (my very favorite country at this time), and has that hot accent, I couldn’t refuse.  I vacuumed, cleaned the kitchen, changed the sheets in the guest bedroom, put out clean towels, scrubbed the guest toilet, and EVEN took out the trash!

Now you guys may not know this, but caravans are mighty popular across the pond.  When he saw mine, he had to laugh.  Being the Scot that he is (many inventors and creative people have hailed from there), he could see immediately what was up.  He did however offer his backhoe for the burial.  I really didn’t like DB and our new friend ganging up on me all that much, but took it in stride.  After all, I HAVE A VISION.  What a vision it is!

I’m going to cook Tomato and Sausage Risotto and make a salad.  Risotto is kind of a pain, but I’ll manage somehow.  DB and Stewart have much in common….motocross, motorcycle racing, bicycling, construction, etc., etc., etc..  While they’re watching all that stuff Paul has Tivo’d, I can hang in the kitchen and learn how to use words such as “rubbish” (can pretty much mean anything you want it to) and “sexty” (sixty).  Here is a link to the recipe:  http://blogs1.marthastewart.com/dinnertonight/2008/09/tomato-and-saus.html  It was a huge hit!

After dinner we’re going to mosey on over to the new and improved Overton Park Shell on our “push bikes” (bicycles) for a free concert and a battle with the mosquitos.

If you’re not aware of it, go to www.ravelry.com.  My name is “knitch.”  Ravelry is an invaluable website.  It’s like a file cabinet for all your knitting (mostly) and yarn stuff.  There’s even a “library” tab, where you can list all the knitting books and magazines you own.  If you have a skein of something and don’t know what to do with it, look up that yarn on ravelry and see what other clever people are doing with it.  It’s VERY helpful!  I’m on there every day.  It’s a worldwide community where you can even purchase patterns, and there are links to yarn shops, both online and brick & mortar.  I advertise there, and it’s been very good for me.

Make sure you check out the updated Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino page.  I have MANY colors now, and more on the way!  Have you seen my ad in the new Debbie Bliss magazine?  Well, I mean what I say!

‘Til next time, gule gule!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Crazy Screwed Up Blog Oh, the cool (knitting) weather….

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. carla78  |  September 25, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    I added you on ravelry. I’m carla78 on there. Good luck with the visitor!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Categories

Feeds

Recent Posts

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

