Crazy for Cowls

January 15, 2009 at 4:50 pm 2 comments

Yes, I also have the cowl bug.  Search ravelry for a cowl, and you’ll get 30 pages of COWLS.  I just bought a really nice present for myself….a leather jacket from a store called All Saints in bonnie England.  The jacket is perfect, and very different from anything I can get here in the U.S.  However, yon jacket has no collar.  It is screaming for a cowl.  So, searched on ravelry (the only smart thing to do), then I went shopping (as if I need more yarn) on Friday for yarn for my cowl to match my new jacket.  I found some really cool and desirable cowl patterns.  My favorite is the Evangeline Cowl from Orinda5.  It is without doubt my favorite.  The jacket is a very dark brown (almost black).  I found (1) skein of Malabrigo Worsted in Sealing Wax that I think will look good for the Evangeline.  In my search for a suitable cowl, I found and favorited 5 more cowls.  Not having much self-control in the “yarn buying” department, I bought enough yarn to knit 2 more cowls.  You see, I also happen to have a duck down jacket that doesn’t have a collar, either.  I think I’ll knit the Darkside Cowl by Sarah Fama for that.  (I don’t know if the link will work into ravelry, but you should try it!)

This just in….I just received my own copy of Norah Gaughan Volume 4 in the mail (Berroco)!  I cannot say enough about her generosity.  She always sends me books that I have test/model knitting in.  I knitted Love and Haight.  Here is Love.  I tried to load Haight, but it won’t LOAD!!!!!  Ugh.  I love this volume, and I think I’m going to have to knit “Tuck” for myself.

Love from NGV4
Love from NGV4

 There was just a US Airways plane crash into the Hudson River.  All the passengers have been rescued.  Phew!  Very cold, and very scary.  They say it was caused by bird strikes to both engines.  All are safe!  (except the poor birds)

Stash in Memphis, TN is having a knit-in (like we used to have at the yarn studio) tomorrow afternoon, from 1-3 p.m., 816 S. Cooper Street.  Please support your local yarn shops!!!

On that note, visit the yarn studio also, for some deeelicious yarn offerings, and to sign up for “stayintheloop”, which announces the latest blog updates and website news.  One time I gave away an autographed book!  I pays to be in touch.

Ciao for now!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Phew! Holidays are over until next year…. I’m Magic Loop ready!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffee  |  January 16, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    I’m glad no one was hurt in the crash, sounds like the pilot did a great job

    Reply
    • 2. knitch  |  January 17, 2009 at 2:40 pm

      It really was an incredible miracle! How often does a plane go down, and the people survive? He’s a true hero.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Categories

Feeds

Recent Posts

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

