I’m Magic Loop ready!

January 22, 2009 at 6:22 pm 1 comment

Wow.  Here I was at work (blogging at work???), knitting on a new etsy project (knitting at work???), and didn’t have my double points.  I google’d magic loop and voila!  A nice little video on uTube showing me how to magic loop.  It’s so nice that someone took the time to post that!  I now know how to do it.  I AM INVINCIBLE!!!!!  I hate double points.   Check out my new etsy item, and let me know if you like it!  I’m working on another one, using Araucania Aysen, a merino wool yarn with a touch of silk and alpaca.  It’s going be very pretty, and fit a 18.5″ head (small adult).

I just got my copy of “French Girl knits,” the book by Kristeen Griffin-Grimes.  It’s still warm off the press!  I think the first sweater I’d like to knit is:

Wrenna from French Girl Knits
Wrenna from French Girl Knits

 

I just happen to have enough Twinkle Soft Chunky laying around to make this for myself.  Will it make my arms look thick?  I hope not!  I get really cold in the office during the Summer, so this may be nice to wear this Spring/Summer.  The book as a whole is very nice to look at.  The staging is beautiful.  Kristeen has great taste!  I’m thinking about kitting a few of the designs on yarnstudio.com.

There are some new colours in Araucania Patagonia.  Click here and feast your eyes!  It has stunning colourways available, and is a GREAT weight for those who don’t like to wear wool.  I’ve found out that Araucania Atacama, one of my favorites, is being discontinued.  It’s their hand-dyed alpaca yarn.  I have some of 4 colors left on the website if you’d like to have a last chance at them.  (Click the Araucania Atacama above)  It is one of my favorites, and I’m very glad that I have 2 colourways in my stash at home.  I get very irritated, putting it mildly, when they discontinue a yarn and don’t even warn us!

The struggling economy has affected all of us.  It has finally hit our office.  On our next paychecks we are all taking a 10% pay cut, in lieu of layoffs.  I think it’s an excellent idea!  We all have our functions, and work well together.  We’re like a little family of 14.  I’m attempting to supplement my income by knitting more for designers and putting more items on etsy.  I’m trying to be mindful of the fact that we’re all struggling and need to support/patronize each other.  We’re having a rep in today to talk to us about Precast Concrete Hollowcore Plank.  Fun you say???  Wrong!  Anyway, I’m going to use a new-found friend, E. Boyd to do the catering for this event.  We have a lot of these lunch & learns, and we like variety in our grub.  SO, E. Boyd of Dish  (Memphis, TN) is going to cater our lunch today.  Please be patient with her….she’s still working on her website.  Give her a try!  Update….the lunch was GREAT!  She served TexMex Turkey burritos, salsa, sour cream, romaine salad, and her special espresso brownies.  Everyone enjoyed the lunch, especially the partners.  That part’s important.

Please remember that there is a knit-in at Stash at 816 S. Cooper Street, Memphis, TN on Fridays, 1-3 p.m.  There is no fee, it’s just a knit-in; hangout and knit and chat.  If it’s raining, even better!  What else would you be doing?  (Those of you at work, don’t answer that!)

Work hard and reap the rewards!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Crazy for Cowls NEWS FLASH!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Categories

Feeds

Recent Posts

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

