Jo Sharp has just left the building….

May 19, 2009 at 11:03 am 2 comments

 Carol Durdin is a terrible human being.

JOSharplogo-holding

Jo Sharp is leaving the States.  Below is the email I received from them this morning:

“Dear Customer: [that’s me, the retailer!]
Jo Sharp is closing her US operation because sales are not sufficient to support the stock and supply service that was offered. Closure is effective from May 18th.  A website based in Australia will offer on-line sales to consumers worldwide in the near future.” 

Her yarns are beautiful.  She has the softest tweeds on the market, without a doubt.  It’s very sad the the US hasn’t realized that soon enough.  I had it in the yarn studio (brick & mortar) and still have it on the website.  I don’t have everything, but I have a good amount of the Classic DK Wool and some tweeds.  I also have some of her books, which are EXCELLENT.  I’m currently working on the “Loose Textured Cardigan” from knit 7.  Of course I couldn’t just knit it straight out of the book.The beginnings of Loose Textured Cardigan knit 7

I decided I would knit a “black” colourway since I had the black Alpaca Kid Lustre in stock.  I’m making the cardigan in the blacks, and I will knit the pullover in the chartreuse (my other favorite colour) as written in the book.

I’ve gotten a lot of work done on the caravan.  HOWEVER, I kind of injured my right wing doing it.  I must heal up before I leave for Paris.  I’d much rather drag that roller bag around the Metro with my right hand than my left.  It really would be better for everyone in the vicinity!  The downside of the injury is limited activity.  I’m still able to KNIT, cook, and pack.

Deciding what knitting to take on this long trip [MEM to ORD to DUB to CDG and back again] is a challenge.  I think socks are a must, as I enjoy the challenge of the patterns I seem to gravitate toward.  I knitted a whole SKIF sweater to and from Turkey a year ago, so I think a sweater should also be included in the carry on.

I hope the food’s good on the plane!

I may or may not post again before I leave, but, I will be listing a new necklace, again a la Sundance catalog, on my etsy page: http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=6978923

I’ll be taking a lot of pictures in France!  We’re staying in a B & B in Gouvieux (where my brother lives).  Hostellerie du Pavillon Saint-Hubert.  Check it out!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Wavy Baby Paris and Poison Ivy

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathy Brewington  |  May 29, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Papatya, I’m so sad about Jo Ann Sharp leaving us. When I had my shoppe in Florence, AL (closed last year and I still miss it) I carried her patterns and yarn. I love getting your emails and keeping up with what you are working on. You were a great inspiration to me when I came by your shoppe to talk to you before I opened mine. We have a common friend Susan Hope, she is a yarn rep, but I’m sure you don’t remember me. But thanks for all of your help. Have fun in Paris and Happy Knitting Kathy

    Reply
    • 2. knitch  |  June 9, 2009 at 12:50 pm

      Of course I remember you! I’m sorry Florence couldn’t support you. The LYS is very important to the community. I KNOW. I’m embarassed by your compliment, but I’ll try to accept it graciously! I still see Susan Hope. I’ll see her at market this weekend, I trust. Stay in touch!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Categories

Feeds

Recent Posts

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

