Sublime

July 1, 2010 at 3:02 pm 2 comments

Yes, Sublime yarn IS sublime.  I’m going to start knitting with it tomorrow.  I’ve kept my hands off it for a long time.  It’s time to break down.

I’m nearing completion of Paper Crane for my sister-in-law.  When I get near the end of a knitting project, a strange feeling begins to well within my very core.  I interpret this to be the “the new project is coming” feeling.  This is what I want to knit:

Lace Border Pullover

The pattern is from Classic Elite’s “Sunday Brunch” book.  (I’m going to use Sublime Extra Fine Merino Wool DK.  It will only take (7) balls for the size 38.  That’s only $52.50 for this sweater.  Sounds like a deal to me!)  It’s not the same, but I think it will be drapey enough.  I say that because the Classic Elite Wool Bamboo that the sweater is originally designed with will be drapey with the bamboo content.  I like bamboo, in the right place, but not in my yarn.  From what I understand, bamboo yarn is not good for the environment.  The process of making bamboo yarn is not good.  Here is a quote from organicclothing.blogs.com:

The manufacturing processes where bamboo the plant is transformed into bamboo the “yarn” are where the sustainability and eco-friendly luster of bamboo is tarnished because of the heavy chemicals, some of which are toxic, that are often required.  Very, very little bamboo clothing would qualify as sustainable or organic clothes. 

There you have it.  I have a sweater knitted with bamboo.  I think it’s a very cool sweater.  It has a lot of drape, and I can wash it by machine.  The Sublime yarn I’m using on my Lace Border Pullover is machine washable too though.  🙂  So, I’ve selected the color “Mocha.”  It should be waaaay ready in time for, dare I say it during this 100 degree day, FALL!!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Forgive me readers….. A beautiful skirt to knit. Yes, knit.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary beth  |  July 2, 2010 at 10:17 am

    Love the updates, keep them coming!

    Reply
    • 2. Papatya  |  July 12, 2010 at 3:55 pm

      You’re welcome Mary Beth!!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Colinette Metis Sweater for me

6 felted acorns

SKIF Swing

More Photos

Categories

Feeds

Recent Posts

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

